Kentucky Derby Race Results

2018 Kentucky Derby 144 Results

Justify ran the third-fastest half mile in Derby history despite the horrid track conditions. Good Magic made a strong run, making it a two-horse race for much of the stretch run, but Justify pulled away down the stretch. Jockey Mike Smith was the oldest rider in the field at 52 years old and won his second Derby in 59 Triple Crown mounts, with trainer Bob Baffert winning his fifth Derby. As for the horse itself, it remained undefeated in its four career starts.

Win ($1.24 million): Justify; Jockey: Mike Smith; Trainer: Bob Baffert
Place ($400,000): Good Magic (-2 ˝ lengths); Jockey: Jose Ortiz; Trainer: Chad Brown
Show ($200,000): Audible (-2 ˝ lengths); Jockey: Javier Castellano; Trainer: Todd Pletcher

2017 Kentucky Derby 143 Results

The number 143th Kentucky Derby held last Saturday, Always Dreaming was crowned the big winner. In a formidable race, Always Dreaming, with a great advantage over his closest opponents, managed to get on the podium.

Always Dreaming's cover time of 1 1/4 mile was 2: 03.59 minutes, to beat Lookin At Lee and Battle of Midway, who escorted him to the finish line.

John Velazquez, was the jokey who was on Always Dreaming, made to look good to the analysts who had to the specimen like favourite to adjudge the legendary test in its edition number 143.

2016 Kentucky Derby 142 Results

Nyquist is halfway to becoming the third consecutive horse to claim the first two legs of the Triple Crown after Saturday's triumph in the 142nd Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs.

He also won the 2015 Breeders' Cup Juvenile, becoming only the second horse to complete the Juvenile-Derby double

Nyquist is halfway to becoming the third consecutive horse to claim the first two legs of the Triple Crown after Saturday's triumph in the 142nd Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs.

2015 Kentucky Derby 141 Results


Victor Espinoza rode last year’s Kentucky Derby winner California Chrome and made his move at the top of the stretch with American Pharoah. Dortmund and Firing Line challenged Pharoah up until the final furlong, but the super horse, trained by Bob Baffert, exceeded expectations to win the 141st Kentucky Derby.

American Pharoah became the first horse to win the "Grand Slam" of American horse racing.

2014 Kentucky Derby 140 Results

California Chrome made it look easy on Saturday, pulling away down the stretch to win the Derby by 1 3/4 lengths.

His trainer, Art Sherman, became the oldest trainer to win the Derby, 59 years after he traveled from California as an exercise rider for Derby winner Swaps. He watched that race from the barn area; this time he smelled red roses in the winner's circle.

2013 Kentucky Derby 139 Results

After being defeated in his first three starts, Orb won five consecutive races, culminating with a victory in the Kentucky Derby on May 4, 2013. He was retired at the end of the year to stand at stud at Claiborne Farm.

Orb currently stands at stud with a 2015 stud fee of $25,000, which was also his 2014 fee. Orb has also been syndicated, and all of the members have breeding rights relating to the number of shares they hold. He resides in the same paddock in which Triple Crown winner Secretariat once resided.

2012 Kentucky Derby 138 Results

I'll Have Another won the first two legs of the Triple Crown by taking the Kentucky Derby with a time of 2:01.83.[3] and the Preakness Stakes in 1:55.94.

On the day before the Belmont Stakes, he was scratched due to tendonitis, ending his chances of winning the Triple Crown, and retired from racing.

2011 Kentucky Derby 137 Results

Animal Kingdom is an American Thoroughbred racehorse best known for winning the 137th Kentucky Derby and the 2013 Dubai World Cup.

After the Derby, Animal Kingdom finished second in the Preakness Stakes and sixth in the Belmont Stakes before his career was disrupted by injury. He returned to finish second in the 2012 Breeders' Cup Mile before winning the Dubai World Cup as a five-year-old in 2013.

Animal Kingdom is the first Kentucky Derby winner to win a Grade 1 race at the age of five. He has won Grade 1 races on both dirt and synthetic surfaces.

2010 Kentucky Derby 136 Results

Kentucky Derby Champion Super Saver is a millionaire Classic winner, by a two-time Derby sire, and from one of the industry’s great sire’s families. And he has made the best start for a Kentucky Derby winner since Seattle Slew.

Precocious as well as Classic, Super Saver was America's Leading Freshman Sire for most of 2014, and was the second-ranked Second Crop Sire of 2015 as well.

Last 15 years of Kentucky Derby Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2018 Justify Mike Smith Bob Baffert
2017 Always Dreaming J. Velazquez T.Pletcher
2016 Nyquist M. Gutierrez D. O'Neill
2015 American Pharoah B. Baffert V. Espinoza
2014 California Chrome V. Espinoza A. Sherman
2013 Orb J. Rosario C. McGaughey III
2012 I'll Have Another M. Gutierrez D. O'Neill
2011 Animal Kingdom J. Velasquez H. Graham Motion
2010 Super Saver C. Borel T. Pletcher
2009 Mine that Bird C. Borel D. Cottey
2008 Big Brown K. Desormeaux Rick Dutrow
2007 Street Sense C. Borel C. Nafzger
2006 Barbaro E. Prado M. Matz
2005 Giacomo M. Smith J. Shirreffs
2004 Smarty Jones S. Elliot J. Servis
2003 Funny Side J. Santos B. Tagg
2002 War Emblem V. Espinoza B. Baffert
2001 Monarchos J. Chaves J. Ward Jr.

Triple Crown Race Dates & Event Locations

May 4, 2019 - Kentucky Derby - Churchill Downs

May 18, 2019 - Preakness Stakes - Pimlico Racetrack

June 08, 2019 - Belmont Stakes - Belmont Park

Nov 2-3, 2018 - Breeders Cup- Santa Anita Park


US CITIZENS: The information contained herein is for entertainment and news matter only. Any use of this information in violation of federal, state and local law is strictly prohibited. Offers by offshore sportsbooks advertising on this site are void in states where prohibited by law. Please check with your local or state enforcement agency.